Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) is a communism oriented state on the North of the Korean Peninsula. 

It has 10 provinces, 2 cities with special status (Pyongyang, Kaesong) and 208 counties.

Population of DPRK is 24 million people (by 2008) 

According to the UNFPA 2008 census, females comprise 51.3 per cent of the population.